Follow

POP Account: How do I set my mail client to leave a copy of messages on the server?

By default a POP account removes the emails from our server after delivery, but you can adjust your server settings before or after establishing the account to opt to leave a copy on our server. It is best to only adjust this setting to retain messages for a short window rather than indefinitely, which can pose issues. We suggest 5-10 days. Using a POP account on multiple devices will require you to delete email on each device (if you've opted to leave a copy of the messages on our server).

Microsoft Outlook 2010

Select File>Account Settings.

Select your Redtail hosted account then select Change or simply double-click the account.

On the Accounts Settings box, select More Settings.

On the More Settings box, select the Advanced tab.

Make sure that the checkbox next to the option "Leave a copy of messages on the server" is checked. The next option directly below, "Remove from server after:,"  will become available to edit and will default to 10 days. We suggest it be set to 5-10 days.

After choosing your options, click OK, then NextFinish and Closeto preserve your settings.

Microsoft Outlook 2007

Select Tools>Account Settings.

Select your Redtail hosted account then select Change or simply double-click the account.

On the Accounts Settings box, select More Settings.

On the More Settings box, select the Advanced tab.

Make sure that the checkbox next to the option "Leave a copy of messages on the server" is checked. The next option directly below, "Remove from server after:,"  will become available to edit and will default to 10 days. We suggest it be set to 5-10 days.

After choosing your options, click OK, then Next, Finish and Closeto preserve your settings.

Microsoft Outlook 2003

Select Tools>Email Accounts.

Select "View change existing email accounts" then click Next.

Select your Redtail hosted account then select Change or simply double-click the account.

On the Accounts Settings box, select More Settings.

On the More Settings box, select the Advanced tab.

Make sure that the checkbox next to the option "Leave a copy of messages on the server" is checked. The next option directly below, "Remove from server after:,"  will become available to edit and will default to 10 days. We suggest it be set to 5-10 days.

After choosing your options, click OK, then NextFinish and Closeto preserve your settings.

Windows Mail/Outlook Express

Select Tools>Accounts.

Select your Redtail hosted account then select Properties.

Select the Advanced tab.

Make sure that the checkbox next to the option "Leave a copy of messages on the server" is checked. The next option directly below, "Remove from server after:,"  will become available to edit and will default to 10 days. We suggest it be set to 5-10 days.

After choosing your options, click OK then Close.

Apple (Mac) Mail

Select Mail>Preferences.

Ensure the Accounts button is selected at the top of the Preferences dialog box. On the left side, select your Redtail hosted account.

Select the Advanced tab.

Make sure that the checkbox next to the option "Remove copy from the server after receiving a message" is checked. The next option directly below should be set to "After one week".

Click Close.

Thunderbird

Select Tools>Account Settings.

In the left navigation pane, select Server Settings.

Make sure that the checkbox next to the option "Leave messages on server" is checked. Then check the next two options directly below, "For at most __ days" and "Until I delete them". The default for "For at most __ days" is 14 days. We suggest 5-10 days.

Click OK.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Powered by Zendesk