Follow

Zimbra Connector for Outlook (ZCO): Creating Zimbra Profile

When you initially install and run the ZCO software, a new profile is created in Outlook named Zimbra. Outlook automatically uses this new Zimbra profile as its default profile when you launch Outlook. At times, the Zimbra profile does not get created or becomes corrupt. Below are the steps to create and manage Zimbra Profiles. 


To access Outlook Profiles:

Windows Vista & 7

Click Start then Control Panel
If in Category View, Select User Accounts and Family Safety then select Mail (32-bit) 
If in Small or Large Icon view, select Mail (32-bit) 

Windows XP

Click Start then Control Panel
Select User Accounts then select Mail 

This will open the Mail Setup dialog box where you will select Show Profiles to access and manage your profiles:


Outlook_Profile_-_Mail_Setup_Dialog.png

 

After selecting Show Profiles, a Mail dialog box will appear:

 

 Outlook_Profile_-_Profile_Dialog.png

Here you can do the following:

View existing profiles in the box below The following profiles are set up on this computer:

Add, remove or copy a profile

Choose preferences for when starting Outlook:

Prompt for a profile to be used (ideal for multiple profile users)

Always use this profile (default setting). When using this option, you would choose the profile in the drop-down box below the option. 

 

 

To create a new Profile:

Select Outlook_Profile_-_Add_Button.png and the New Profile Dialog box will appear. 

Type in "Zimbra" in the text box below Profile Name: then Select OK

Outlook_Profile_-_New_Profile_Dialog.png

After selecting OK, you will be prompted to add the email accounts for the newly created profile. 

 

To add the MAPI account to the newly created Zimbra profile, select Manually configure server settings or additional server types within the Add New Account wizard then select Next.

 Outlook_Profile_-_Add_New_Account.png

 

You will then be prompted to choose a service within the Add New Account wizard. On this screen, you will select the radio button next to Other; then you will select Zimbra Collaboration Server from within the box below Connect to a server type shown below. Select Next to proceed to the next step of the setup. 

 

 Outlook_Profile_-_Add_New_Account_2.png

 

After selecting Next, the Zimbra Server Configuration Settings wizard will appear. Here you will enter the following information:

Server Name: mapi.redtailtechnology.com

Check the box next to Use Secure Connection

Email Address: You will enter the full email address for the account you are configuring.

Password: - You will enter the email password for the account you are configuring.

After entering the above outlined information, you will select Apply to validate the account with the server followed by OK:

 

Outlook_Profile_-_Add_New_Account_3.png

 

If the information entered is incorrect, you will receive the message below. Verify the server information and account credentials to ensure they were entered correctly. Select OK to make any changes and attempt to validate the account again. 

 

Outlook_Profile_-_Add_New_Account_6.png

 

After adding the account, you will be prompted to restart Outlook for the changes to take effect. You will select OK to proceed.

 

 Outlook_Profile_-_Add_New_Account_4.png

 

 You will then receive a congratulations for your successful addition of the account. You will click Finish to complete the process.

 

Outlook_Profile_-_Add_New_Account_5.png

 


To remove the existing Zimbra Profile:

Highlight the existing Zimbra profile within the Profiles dialog under The following profiles are set up on this computer: select Outlook_Profile_-_Remove_Button.png  

After selecting to Remove the account, you will receive a notice that asks "Are you sure you want to remove this profile from the system?". Select Yes to remove the highlighted profile or select No to abort. 

Outlook_Profile_-_Are_You_Sure_Notice.png

Note: By removing the Zimbra profile, the local data store (.zdb file) will be removed. This will require the data store to be recreated thus resulting in an initial sync to sync the data residing on the server. The initial sync can take a few hours to complete. The user will be able to send and receive while the sync takes place.  

 

Additional information:

If the user is utilizing Retriever for the Desktop, make sure that it is turned off until the initial synchronization with the server has been completed. Syncing prior to allowing the sync to complete can result in duplicated contacts and calendar items.

Was this article helpful?
1 out of 1 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Powered by Zendesk