Permissioning is now available within Redtail CRM. You can apply permissions either to individual contacts or you can apply in bulk to a group of contacts. Below we will take a look at how you apply these settings using both methods. First, however, a couple of preliminary items to note:
- Database Owners are not impacted by any permission settings — they have access to everything regarding every contact within the database.
- Only Database Owners and Database Admins can set permissions.
- This part is a little trickier to understand so please let us know if you have questions. If the Database Owner or a Database Admin sets permissioning for a group of contacts to only be viewable by a Database User Team that excludes another Database Admin, that Database Admin will no longer have access to those contact records. But, Database Admins have rights to edit Database Teams, so they can restore their own permissions should they add themselves to a Database Team that can view those permissioned contacts. If you want to ensure that one of your Database Users will not have access to any contacts for whom you've established permissioning, you would need to remove their Admin rights.
- Permissions require that the database owner has restricted his/her database users to access to the new CRM only. If access to Classic is still an option for database users, permissions cannot be applied. If you try to apply permissions without having disabled access to Classic, the below dialog will alert you to the fact that your database's access rights must be changed prior to applying permissioning:
- When a contact is permissioned, the contact will be removed from the Dashboard Calendar, Notes, Reports, Searches, etc., for any database user not a part of the permissioning rights for that contact.
- Calendared items for a contact that is blocked to a database user will show up as "PRIVATE" items and will not be accessible to that database user. This will, however, allow the database user to see that a time block exists in another database user's calendar:
Add permissioning to an individual contact
- Everyone - all database users have full access to the contact record.
- Only Me - only you have access to the contact record. Note the comments above about the database owner and admin users of the database, as the Only Me option would only truly restrict access to just yourself if you were the database owner and there were no other admin users of the database.
- Selected Database Team - while the same caveats apply about the database owner and admin users of the database, you can select Database Teams that have rights to access a specific contact. If you choose "Selected Database Team," your dialog will then appear as below:
You can click the down arrows in the second menu to see available Database Teams within your database:
Then, just click a Database Team to select it.
Whether you select Everyone, Only Me or a specific Database Team, you can then just click Save Viewing Permissions to put your permissioning into place.
Add Permissioning to a group of contacts
To add permissions in bulk, you would need to bring up the group of contacts to whom you want to apply the permissions on your Search page within Redtail. After the contacts are on your Search page, you can select the ones you want to apply the permissioning change to and click the arrows in the Options menu to the right of your search results:
Within that Options menu, you'll see "Bulk Permission Change." Click it to receive the following dialog:
If you compare this dialog to the one you see when applying permissioning to an individual contact, you'll see two differences:
- Across the top of the dialog it says "Add Bulk Permissions" and indicates in parenthesis how many contact records you are setting up permissioning changes for.
- Underneath the box where you select to whom to give permission rights, you'll see a selection box next to "Replace existing permissions." If any of the contacts you've selected here currently have permissions that apply to them, you can override those permission settings. Note: if you do not select this box, you will not be able to apply your Bulk Permissions change.
Other than these two differences, applying permissions in bulk works in the same manner as described above for applying permissions to an individual contact.