We receive questions every day from Redtail users that center around establishing and maintaining a "clean" database. You can read here about how to combine records within your database. Here, we'll walk through the process of deleting client records from your database, whether you want to delete one record or to delete records in bulk.
Deleting Individual Records
To delete an individual record, it's simply a matter of going to the contact's Overview page and scrolling down to the Common Tasks area at the bottom of the right-hand column. There you will see an option to "Delete this Contact":
If you click Delete this Contact, you'll be asked to confirm that you want to do so as well as being presented with the option to remove all activities related to the contact:
Once you've confirmed the deletion, the contact record is sent to your Recycle Bin, which is accessible under Contacts —> Recycle Bin.
Deleting Records in Bulk
If you have multiple contact records which you would like to delete in bulk, you can perform this action from your Advanced Search page, accessible under Contacts —> Search. Once you've run a search to pull up results that will include the records you are looking for, you can place checks next to the contacts you would like to delete:
In our example above, we've placed checks next to Jake, Jane and Joe Jackson.
Then, from the Result Options menu to the right of your search results, you can select Delete Selected Contacts from the Options pulldown menu:
You'll then receive a popup asking you to confirm that you want to delete the selected records. Once you've confirmed the deletion, the contact records are sent to your Recycle Bin (Contacts —> Recycle Bin). If you inadvertently delete a contact record or you just decide that you actually do still need the record in your database, you can visit your Recycle Bin to restore their record.